Cover pool

Eligible assets

Caisse Française de Financement Local’s assets comprise exclusively:

  • exposures to public entities eligible under article L.513-4 of the French Monetary and Financial Code,i.e., loans to or bonds issued by or fully guaranteed by public entities (central governments, local government entities or groups of such, or public institutions). These exposures may be located in the European Economic Area, Switzerland, the United States, Canada or Japan. Exposures to foreign public sector entities were marketed by CAFFIL’s former shareholder and are now being run off. Since 2013, all of Caisse Française de Financement Local’s new assets relate to French borrowers.
  • sufficiently high-quality and liquid securities, assets and deposits held as replacement assets pursuant to article L.513-7 of the French Monetary and Financial Code. These are exposures to credit institutions benefiting from at least a step 1 rating (triple A or double A) or, when their maturity does not exceed 100 days, from a step 2 rating (single A). Their total amount is limited to 15% of the total outstanding obligations foncières and other debt benefiting from the legal privilege (registered covered bonds in the case of Caisse Française de Financement Local). CAFFIL’s cash surpluses are invested in assets in this category.

Transfer mode

Caisse Française de Financement Local has implemented various asset acquisition procedures, as follows: 

Since early 2013:

  • acquisition of loans marketed by La Banque Postale and granted to French local government entities and public hospitals,
  • granting to SFIL of loans benefiting from an irrevocable and unconditional guarantee from the French Republic, for the refinancing of large export credits,
  • direct origination of loans in connection with the restructuring of loans on its balance sheet,
  • investment of cash surpluses in bank or European public sector bonds.

Until the end of 2012 :

  • direct loan origination,;
  • acquisition of loans or securities from Dexia Group companies, ;
  • granting to Dexia Group entities of loans guaranteed by the assignment of receivables (pursuant to the “Dailly Law” or the “Collateral Directive”).

Local refinancing

La Banque Postale partnership

Since the end of 2012, La Banque Postale markets loans to the French local public sector and public hospitals. The loans originated are exclusively in euros with a vanilla interest rate.

Within the framework of this new organization for the financing of the French local public sector and public hospitals, Caisse Française de Financement Local and La Banque Postale signed a partnership agreement. La Banque Postale committed to propose to Caisse Française de Financement Local all the loans that would be eligible for its cover pool.

This partnership allows Caisse Française de Financement Local to preserve the control of its credit risk as it organizes the analysis of the credit risk of the loans in two stages.

  • When the loan is originated, the initial analysis of the counterparty is carried out simultaneously at the two entities. The loans that do not meet the credit criteria of Caisse Française de Financement Local cannot be transferred to its balance sheet. Caisse Française de Financement Local’s eligibility criteria are strictly monitored by internal management policies and limit eligible counterparties to French local public sector entities and public hospitals.
  • Before the loans originated by La Banque Postale are transferred to Caisse Française de Financement Local, a new analysis of the assets is conducted, and Caisse Française de Financement Local may refuse a loan prior to the transfer if the asset no longer meets the criteria.

The sale of loans to Caisse Française de Financement Local is carried out by using a transfer form (bordereau) that is specific to sociétés de crédit foncier.

Loan sensitivity reduction

Within CAFFIL’s cover pool, certain loans to French counterparties are classified as structured loans (see the code of conduct governing relations between banks and local government entities, available on the French Ministry of the Interior’s website). These structured loans were inherited from CAFFIL’s former shareholder. The most sensitive of these loans were the subject of a loan sensitivity reduction policy that SFIL and CAFFIL introduced at the beginning of 2013. This policy has enabled the Group to significantly reduce (by more than 85%) its sensitive structured loan outstandings. As regards the vast majority of the remaining outstanding loans, their structured component is not active and the rate that the customer pays does not exceed 5%. The scope of sensitive structured loans is therefore extremely limited and the associated risk is no longer material for Caisse Française de Financement Local.

CAFFIL may also, for the vanilla assets in its cover pool and at the customer’s request, carry out customer debt management operations (restructuring, extension, etc.).

Export refinancing

In addition to their mission of refinancing French local governments and public hospitals, SFIL and Caisse Française de Financement Local have been entrusted with a second mission by the French State: to refinance large French export contracts, with the objective to support French exports in terms of financial competitiveness, in accordance with a public refinancing plan comparable to that of other OECD countries. In this context, SFIL signed a protocol agreement governing
relations with about 20 commercial banks, thereby confirming relations with almost all the banks active in the French export credit market. SFIL may acquire all or a part of the participation of each of these banks in an export credit.

In this context, Caisse Française de Financement Local grants loans to SFIL in order to refinance its export credits. Such loans benefit from an irrevocable and unconditional 100% guarantee by the French State (enhanced guarantee). This business brings Caisse Française de Financement Local closer to the French State, without modifying the risk profile of its cover pool.

The system functions as follows:

  • SFIL contributes to the financial proposal made by one or more banks in the banking syndicate granting the buyer credit covered by the export credit insurance guaranteed by the French State. Then, these banks will sell all or part of the loans (and the attached rights) to SFIL and will keep at least the share of the export credit not covered by the insurance (usually 5%).
  • Caisse Française de Financement Local grants a loan to SFIL to enable it to refinance the acquired export credit; this refinancing loan benefits from an irrevocable and unconditional 100% guarantee by the French State, referred to as an “enhanced guarantee”. Loans granted by Caisse Française de Financement Local to SFIL to refinance the purchased export credits thus constitute exposures that are totally guaranteed by the French State and eligible for the cover pool of a société de crédit foncier. These loans also comply with the European CRR regulation (article 129, which specifies the assets authorized for inclusion in a cover pool to ensure that the covered bonds will benefit from the best prudential treatment).

The disbursement of refinancing loans for large export credits is staggered over several years as construction of the exported assets and the resulting refinancing needs  will progress. These credits, thus, will reach a significant share of CAFFIL’s cover pool only in a few years.

Breakdown of assets by country

French public sector loans made up the majority of CAFFIL’s cover pool and their share is due to increase in the coming years. As a matter of fact, international assets inherited from CAFFIL’s former shareholder are now managed in a run-off mode. Consequently, all new assets entering the cover pool relate to exposures on French public sector borrowers (excepting replacement assets).

Detailed data on CAFFIL’s cover pool composition are available in the key figures section of this internet site and in the quarterly published report on asset quality.

Breakdown of assets by type of counterparty

Caisse Française de Financement Local’s portfolio is very largely made up of exposures on local governments (for about 80%), public hospitals having a share of a little more than 10% of the cover pool. The share of sovereign exposures is due to gradually increase with the release of funds on export refinancings (indirect exposures on French Republic).


Detailed data on CAFFIL’s cover pool composition are available in the key figures section of this internet site and in the quarterly published report on asset quality.

Portefeuille de couverture

Actifs éligibles

L’actif de la Caisse Française de Financement Local comprend uniquement :

  • des expositions sur des personnes publiques éligibles aux termes de l’article L.513-4 du code monétaire et financier : il s’agit de prêts ou titres obligataires auprès ou totalement garantis par des personnes publiques (États, collectivités territoriales, leurs groupements, ou établissements publics). Ces expositions peuvent être situées dans l’Espace économique européen, en Suisse, aux États-Unis, au Canada et au Japon. Les expositions sur des entités du secteur public étranger ont été commercialisées par l’ancien actionnaire de CAFFIL et sont désormais gérées en extinction. Depuis 2013, les nouveaux actifs de la Caisse Française de Financement Local concernent uniquement des emprunteurs français.
  • des titres, valeurs et dépôts suffisamment sûres et liquides détenus comme des valeurs de remplacement aux termes de l’article L.513-7 du code monétaire et financier. Il s’agit d’expositions sur des établissements de crédit bénéficiant au minimum d’une notation de « 1er échelon » (niveau triple A ou double A) ou, lorsque leur durée n’excède pas 100 jours, d’une notation de « 2ème échelon » (niveau simple A) ; leur montant total est limité à 15 % du total des obligations foncières et autres dettes bénéficiant du privilège (registered covered bonds pour la CAFFIL). Cette catégorie d’actifs est utilisée pour les placements des excédents de trésorerie de CAFFIL. 

Modes d’acquisition

La Caisse Française de Financement Local a mis en place différentes procédures d’acquisitions  d’actifs, à savoir : 

Depuis début 2013 :

  • l’acquisition auprès de La Banque Postale de prêts accordés à des collectivités locales françaises et hôpitaux publics français,
  • l’octroi de prêts à SFIL bénéficiant de la garantie irrévocable et inconditionnelle de l’Etat français pour l’activité de refinancement des grands crédits à l’exportation,
  • l’origination directe de prêts par CAFFIL dans le cadre de réaménagement de prêts figurant à son bilan,
  • l’investissement des excédents de trésorerie sous la forme de titres obligataires bancaires ou du secteur public européen.

 Jusqu’à fin 2012 :

  • l’origination directe des prêts,
  • l’acquisition de prêts ou de titres auprès de sociétés du groupe Dexia,
  • l’octroi de prêts aux entités du groupe Dexia garantis par des cessions de créances (cession Dailly ou directive collatérale).

Refinancement Collectivités Locales

Partenariat avec La Banque Postale

Depuis fin 2012, La Banque Postale commercialise des prêts au secteur public local et aux hôpitaux publics français. Ces prêts sont exclusivement libellés en euro et portent un taux d’intérêt simple (vanille).

Dans le cadre de ce nouveau dispositif de financement du secteur public local et des hôpitaux publics français, la Caisse Française de Financement Local et La Banque Postale ont signé un contrat de partenariat. La Banque Postale s’est engagée à proposer à la Caisse Française de Financement Local d’acquérir l’ensemble des prêts qui seraient éligibles à son cover pool.

Ce partenariat permet à la Caisse Française de Financement Local de conserver la maîtrise de son risque de crédit car il organise l’analyse du risque de crédit des prêts en deux étapes :

  • lors de l’origination d’un prêt, l’analyse préalable de la contrepartie est réalisée simultanément par les deux entités. Les prêts qui ne satisfont pas les critères de qualité de crédit et d’éligibilité de la Caisse Française de Financement Local ne pourront pas être transférés à son bilan. Les critères d’éligibilité de la Caisse Française de Financement Local sont strictement encadrés par des politiques de gestion internes et limitent les contreparties éligibles aux entités du secteur public local et aux hôpitaux publics français,
  • avant chaque acquisition par la Caisse Française de Financement Local de prêts originés par La Banque Postale, une nouvelle analyse des crédits est réalisée. La Caisse Française de Financement Local peut alors rejeter avant le transfert tout prêt qui ne correspondrait plus à ses critères.

L’acquisition de prêts par la Caisse Française de Financement Local est réalisée au moyen d’un bordereau de cession prévu par la loi et spécifique aux sociétés de crédit foncier.

Partenariat avec La Banque Postale :

Désensibilisation

Au sein du cover pool de CAFFIL, certains prêts à des contreparties françaises sont qualifiés de prêts structurés (cf. charte de bonne conduite entre les établissements bancaires et les collectivités territoriales disponible sur le site du ministère de l’intérieur). Ces prêts structurés ont été hérités de l’ancien actionnaire de CAFFIL. Parmi ces derniers, les prêts les plus sensibles ont fait l’objet d’une politique de désensibilisation menée par SFIL et CAFFIL dès le début de 2013. Cette politique a permis de réduire très significativement l’encours des prêts structurés sensibles (de plus de 85%). L’encours résiduel correspond très majoritairement à des prêts dont la composante structurée n’est pas activité et pour lesquels le taux payé par le client n’excède pas 5%.  Le périmètre des crédits structurés sensibles est donc extrêmement limité et le risque associé n’est plus un enjeu pour la Caisse Française de Financement Local.

CAFFIL peut également pour les actifs vanilles de son cover pool, à la demande du client, procéder à des opérations de gestion de la dette du client (réaménagement, rallongement, etc.). 

Refinancement Crédit export

En complément de la mission de refinancement des collectivités locales françaises, l’Etat a confié à SFIL/CAFFIL une seconde mission : le refinancement des grands contrats à l’exportation, avec pour objectif avec pour objectif d’améliorer la compétitivité des financements associés aux exportations françaises, selon un schéma de refinanceur public qui existe déjà dans plusieurs pays de l’OCDE. Dans ce cadre, SFIL a organisé au travers de conventions bilatérales sa relation avec une vingtaine de banques commerciales, soit la quasi-totalité des banques actives sur le marché du crédit export français. SFIL peut acquérir tout ou partie de la participation de chacune de ces banques à un crédit export. Dans ce contexte, la Caisse Française de Financement Local accorde des prêts à SFIL, pour le refinancement de ses crédits export. Ces prêts de refinancement bénéficient d’une garantie irrévocable et inconditionnelle à 100 % de l’État français (garantie rehaussée). Cette activité renforce l’ancrage public français de la Caisse Française de Financement Local sans modifier le profil de risque de son cover pool.

Le fonctionnement du dispositif est le suivant :

  • SFIL contribue à la proposition financière élaborée par une ou plusieurs banques du syndicat bancaire accordant le crédit acheteur couvert par une assurance-crédit à l’exportation accordée par l’État français ; ces banques céderont à SFIL ensuite tout ou partie du crédit (et les droits attachés) et conserveront a minima la part du crédit export qui ne bénéficie pas de l’assurance (généralement 5 %) ;
  • la Caisse Française de Financement Local accorde un prêt à SFIL permettant à cette dernière de refinancer le crédit export acquis ; ce prêt de refinancement bénéficie d’une garantie irrévocable et inconditionnelle à 100 % de l’État français, dite « garantie rehaussée ». Les crédits de refinancement export accordés par la Caisse Française de Financement Local constituent donc des expositions totalement garanties par l’État, éligibles au cover pool d’une société de crédit foncier. Ces prêts sont aussi conformes à la réglementation européenne CRR (article 129 décrivant les actifs autorisés dans un cover pool pour que les covered bonds bénéficient d’un traitement prudentiel favorable).

Le versement des prêts de refinancement des crédits export est échelonné sur plusieurs années au fur et à mesure des besoins liés à la construction de l’actif exporté et ils n’atteindront par conséquent une proportion significative au sein du cover pool de la CAFFIL que dans plusieurs années.

Répartition des actifs par pays

Les actifs français sont prédominants dans le cover pool de CAFFIL et leur proportion va augmenter dans les prochaines années. En effet, les actifs internationaux issus de l’ancien actionnaire de CAFFIL sont désormais gérés en extinction. Par conséquent, tous les nouveaux actifs entrant dans le cover pool (à l’exception des valeurs de remplacement) correspondent à des expositions sur des personnes publiques françaises.

Des données détaillées sur la composition du cover pool de CAFFIL sont disponibles dans la partie chiffres clés de ce site internet ainsi que dans le rapport sur la qualité des actifs publié chaque trimestre.

Répartion des actifs par type de clients

Le portefeuille de la Caisse Française de Financement Local est très majoritairement composé d’expositions sur des collectivités territoriales (environ 80%), les hôpitaux publics représentent un peu plus de 10% du cover pool. La part des expositions sur les souverains va croître progressivement au fur et à mesure des versements sur les crédits export refinancés (expositions indirectes sur l’Etat français).

Des données détaillées sur la composition du cover pool de CAFFIL sont disponibles dans la partie chiffres clés de ce site internet ainsi que dans le rapport sur la qualité des actifs publié chaque trimestre.